How I met Captain Jack Sparrow II

This is also the story about how Joe DiMartino almost caught Captain! Jack! Sparrow!.. on camera.

Do you want to know what I do for work? It’s not so easy to explain, but I’m happy to share with you one of the days that jumps out. Although, when you are able to work in an overseas office, all days jump out, at least for me.

Unloading containers in the port

Today I can join Joe and Sam on a port visit. I can see how a container ship is unloaded and even go aboard! We need to show our ID and go to the Captain to ask for permission to head up to the bridge. Well, let’s say that we couldn’t believe our eyes when we met him.

The Captain (just missing a parrot on his shoulder) and me

He sees what we are all thinking and introduces himself as Captain Jack Sparrow the Second (true story!). Others ask what I’m afraid to say: I want a picture with this guy!  Long hair, ear rings, … This is THE Captain of all captains, the inspiration for Johnny Depp’s role in Pirates of the Caribbean. Joe grabs my camera, and also Neil grabs his Blackberry. Thank god for Neil! This day will be remembered as the day Joe almost caught Captain Jack Sparrow on camera, as the picture he thought he took wasn’t there!

We have a look around The Black Pearl II and everybody turns 10 years old again when we see the captains seat. Yes, we all get to sit and pose, find out how steering works (almost all auto-pilot + no big rudder anymore), …

Captain Annika

Off course we are talking about business as well but there is no harm in enjoying your work now is there? 😉

As we are in the area, lunch needs to include a Philly cheese steak. We don’t end up going to the classics, where this greasy meal originates and where you get yelled at if you don’t order it in the right way. I do find out what cheez whiz is and put Pat’s on my bucket list.

Philly cheese steak with Joe and Sam

Still so much to tell you on my blog! What to tell first? An analysis of the US food, more specific the burgers? How much fun I had on the 21st of July with some unplanned Belgian visitors? A list of all the ‘interesting’ vocabulary I have learned here? Why don’t YOU tell me what you like to read about or see pictures of.

Last thing for today which will blow your mind:

It is possible to travel on a cargo-ship as a regular passenger. There were 5 Germans getting of the vessel we visited. If ever interested (Joe put it on his bucket list), have a look around the internet, like this website. I’m sure it’s a true adventure!

 

*edit: this is the link if you want to hop-on this ship’s route: http://www.cruisepeople.co.uk/icl.htm , thanks Neil for the details!*

2 thoughts on “How I met Captain Jack Sparrow II

  1. I like to see some pictures of the American way of life in Central Park on a lazy sunny Sunday afternoon.

Leave a comment